Rabbi in the Synagogue; Important Jewish Scientists Referenced in the Cincinnati Judaica Fund Collection
Designed by ABRAM BELSKIE (British-American, 1907-1988)
Minted by the Medallic Art Company in both Bronze and Silver (.999) - both 44mm in diameter
Abram Belskie (1907-1988) British-American sculptor, medalist, medical illustrator.
Born London, England, 24 March 1907.
Grew up in Glasgow, Scotland where he received his first art training; came to America arriving New York City 11 November 1929. In New York he worked for another London emigrant sculptor, John Gregory. In 1931 he moved to Closter New Jersey and became a stone carver with Robert Alexander Bailie; here Belskie created three most noted sculptures: Three Hebrew Youths, the Christchild, and Moonbeam (later two in Brookgreen Gardens, South Carolina).
In 1939 Belskie began working with Dr. Robert Latou Dickinson, specialized in medical illustration and realistic medical models, replicating not only organs in three dimensions and color but also how they feel. Their most famous collaboration, the Birth Series, was on exhibit at the New York World's Fair, 1939-40.
Because of this experience he was commissioned to create medals of medical interest, and ultimately, in 1969, a series of 50 medical medals for Presidential Art Medals. Belskie became typecast as a medical medal specialist.
Signed art works ABR.B or AB initials. [See also Notes on Cataloging.]
Awards and Recognition: Academician: National Academy of Design. Fellow: National Sculpture Society. Member: Allied Artists; American Numismatic Association. Awarded: J. Sanford Saltus Medal for Medallic Art by American Numismatic Society, 1959. Awarded: Sculptor of the Year by American Numismatic Association, 1974. Winner: 1951 National Sculpture Society Lindsey Morris Prize for best bas-relief (including medallic art).
Died Westwood, New Jersey, 17 November 1988.
A museum in his honor containing medals, models, busts, finished bas-reliefs and sculptures was established in his hometown, Closter, New Jersey. Named the Belskie Museum of Art and Science, it was dedicated 11 September 1994 and is maintained by the Closter Lions Club.
Leave a Comment